When Wilshere smashed in that peach of a goal against Norwich in the Premeir League this season, Wenger attributed it was one of the best he has seen. Gooners expects the goal to make the goal of the season come June 2014 unless another magical goal appears from no where. Nevertheless, a section of the fans had expected the goal to have made the Puskas’ Award shortlist and maybe win it, but it was not to be.

No FIFA Puskas' Award
No FIFA Puskas’ Award

Earlier this week, FIFA announced the 10 nominees for the Puskas’ Award for the best goal of the year.

The ten goals are (in alphabetical order of the scorer’s names):

  • Peter Ankersen – 10 August 2013 – Esbjerg fB v. Aarhus GF – SAS Ligaen (Denmark)
  • Lisa De Vanna – 01 June 2013 – Sky Blue FC v. Boston Breakers – NWSL
  • Antonio Di Natale – 07 April 2013 – Udinese Calcio v. AC Chievo Verona – Serie A
  • Zlatan Ibrahimović – 13 November 2012 – Sweden v. England – International Friendly
  • Panagiotis Kone – 16 December 2012 – SSC Napoli v. Bologna FC 1909 – Serie A
  • Daniel Ludueña – 27 July 2013 – Pachuca CF v. Tigres UANL – Apertura Mexico
  • Nemanja Matić – 13 January 2013 – SL Benfica v. FC Porto – Liga Sagres
  • Louisa Nécib – 17 March 2013 – Olympique Lyonnais v. AS Saint-Etienne – D1 Féminine
  • Neymar – 15 June 2013 – Brazil v. Japan – FIFA Confederations Cup
  • Juan Manuel Olivera – 28 August 2013 – Nautico v. Sport Recife – Copa Sudamericana

Videos of the ten goals, as well as the list of scorers and the voting tool, can be found here: http://www.fifa.com/ballondor/puskasaward/index.html. You can also watch all the goals via the FIFA on YouTube channel.

Users of FIFA.com and francefootball.fr will be able to choose from ten goals until 9 December when the three goals with the most votes will be disclosed. Immediately after the announcement on 9 December, FIFA.com and francefootball.fr users will be able to vote again for their favourite from the three remaining goals. The winner will be revealed on the day of the FIFA Ballon d’Or on 13 January 2014. Voting will close during the show.

The FIFA Puskás Award, created in honour and in memory of Ferenc Puskás, the captain and star of the Hungarian national team during the 1950s, will be presented for the fifth year in a row at the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2013, which will be held at the Kongresshaus in Zurich.

The Arsenal fans would argue that Wilshere’s goal deserve to be on that shortlist but FIFA has made their choice.