Arsenal travelled to Stoke City on Sunday and fought out a hard-earned 0-0 draw with the Orcs thanks to heroic goal keeping by Abrahamovic’s gift to Arsenal. In a week where John Terry scored an own goal and needed the linesman to look the other way for Chelsea’s late equalizer, a draw at the Britannia was appreciated.

Neighbours Nigeria, Niger light up Group C

The gunners were without Mesut Ozil who is nursing a foot injury. The reigning German player of the year will surely be fit for Chelsea’s visit on Sunday. Arsenal had to make do with the trio of Flamini, Ramsey and Oxlade-Chamberlain in the middle. There were chances for both sides to win the game but the two goalies pulled out saves to deny the opposition from scoring. Full match report can be found here.

Arsenal remain on top of the table. Leicester City missed the chance to go 2 points clear after Mahrez missed a penalty against Aston Villa. I was hurt though for FPL reasons but it was good news for Arsenal. Manchester City covered the gaps by whitewashing Crystal Palace at the Etihad. One game at a time.

Back home in Africa, the 2016 African Nations Championship started on Saturday in Rwanda. The Super Eagles of Nigeria will begin their campaign today against Neighbours Niger. Niger has never defeated the Super Eagles before. Nigeria was denied a place in the 2011 championship by Niger following a 2-0 aggregate win in 2010.  I expect the Chima Akas led Super Eagles to spell N-I-G-E-R today.

Goals as been scarce in the competition but i believe the Eagles will open the flood gates just like DR Congo sent 3 past Ethiopia. The competition is only for African players playing club football in their respective countries.

Below is the squad list of the Super Eagles in Rwanda 2016.

1. Ezenwa Ikechukwu
2. Kalu Okogbue Orji
3. Akas Chima Uche
4. Usman Muhammed
5. Austin Ajokpaoghena Obaroakpo
6. Jamiu Alimi
7. Obus Prince Aggreh
8. Mathew Ifeanyi
9. Babatunde Temitope Adeniji
10. Paul Odeh Onobi
11. Ezekiel Joseph Bassey
12. Bartholomew Ibenegbu
13. Chisom Elvis Chikatara
14. Etim Mathew
15.  Salau Ibrahim
16. Afebunhame Olufemi Thomas
17. Osadebamwen Moses Okoro
18.  Yaro Kawu Bature
19.  Madaki Christopher
20.  Onyedikachi Bright Uchechukwu
21. Stephen Eze
22. Samson Dare Gbadebo
23. Okiemute Odah

We expect the winners medal in Nigeria. We need to do better than the 2014 Bronze.

Back to work fellas. That was 400th post on this blog.

Enjoy your day.