FedCup Winners (credit: Get 9jaSports)

The 2016 Federation Cup came to an end on Sunday at the Teslim Balogun Stadium with FC IfeanyiUbah and Rivers Angels emerging champions in the Men and Women category respectively.

FC IfeanyiUbah and Nasarawa United played out a 0-0 draw in 90 minutes and needed the lottery of penalties to decide the winner of the 71st Federation Cup. It was their 1st cup final and it was end to end stuff characterized by poor play in the final third. The Solid Miners were swift on counters but failed to connect or convert when crucial. The Anambra warriors were kept at bay, occasionally kept offside or denied by the goalie who was voted man of the match.

The game had to be decided via penalties. FC IfeanyiUbah were the better side from the spot, converting all of their kicks to emerge 5-4 winners. They would join Wikki Tourists as Nigerian representatives in the 2017 CAF Confederation Cup.

In the Women Final, Bayelsa Queens failed to win their first Cup title as they lost 5-3 on penalties to Rivers Angels after 90 minutes ended 1-1. Bayelsa Queens opened scoring in the 18th minute but Osinachi Ohale grabbed the equalizer minutes later. The second half was goalless and the winner had to be decided via penalty shootouts.

It is a 7th Cup title for Rivers Angels who becomes the most successful team in the competition – one better than Pelican Stars. Bayelsa Queens will feel hard done after they lost their 6th cup final. They are yet to win the Federation Cup. They also lost via penalties in 2015.

Congratulations to FC IfeanyiUbah and Rivers Angels.