CAF have released the squad lists for the 8 teams participating in the 2016 Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations that begins today at the Eko Atlantic City in Lagos, Nigeria.

Veteran Isiaka Olawale and 2013 top scorer Azeez Abu made the final 12 to represent Nigeria. The squad is made up of 2 goalkeepers, 4 defenders, 1 midfielder and 5 forwards.

Nigeria Squad and jersey numbers:

  1. GK – Godwin Gwatana Tale (Confluence Beach Soccer Club, Kogi)
  2. DF – Emmanuel Evaware Ohwoferia (Owibeseb FC)
  3. DF – Ogbonnaya Okemmiri (Abia Warriors FC)
  4. MF – Lukman Ibrahim (Kada Stars FC, Kaduna)
  5. DF – Austin Godspower Igudia (Akwa United FC)
  6. DF – Victor Sheneni Tale (Kogi United FC)
  7. FW – Isiaka Olawale (El-Kanemi Warriors FC)
  8. FW – Azeez Abu (Enyimba Intl. FC)
  9. FW – Fuwad Babatunde Badmus (Owibeseb FC)
  10. FW – Emeka Hugo Ogbonna (Leads United FC)
  11. FW – Suleman Mohammed (FC IfeanyiUbah)
  12. FW – Godwin Ifeanyi Ayalogu (Rivers United FC)

Nigeria will face Egypt, Cote d’Ivoire and Ghana in Group A and would hope to make the final in order to qualify for the World Cup that comes up next year in The Bahamas.

Reigning champions Madagascar are in the same group with Senegal, the most successful team in Africa. Libya and Morocco make up Group B.

Action starts today by 4pm. Don’t miss the beach actions.