Gernot Rohr finally trimmed his team to 23 players after the friendly matches against DR Congo in Port Harcourt and England at Wembley. The Super Eagles were held to a 1-1 draw by DR Congo but lost 2-1 to England with Alex Iwobi scoring Nigeria’s only goal – Nigeria’s first ever against England.

Mikel Agu, Ola Aina and Moses Simon joined Junior Lokosa, Stephen Eze, Dele Ajiboye and Uche Agbo who were axed before the team arrived London for the England friendly.

The biggest surprise in the team is Simy Nwankwo. Few months ago, he was not talked about. He gatecrashed and will be in Russia.

The Final List:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho; Daniel Akpeyi; Ikechukwu Ezenwa

Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu; Tyronne Ebuehi; William Ekong; Leon Balogun; Chidozie Awaziem; Elderson Echiejile; Kenneth Omeruo; Bryan Idowu

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi; Mikel John Obi; Ogenyi Onazi; John Ogu; Oghenekaro Etebo; Joel Obi

Forwards: Odion Ighalo; Victor Moses; Simeon Nwankwo; Alex Iwobi; Ahmed Musa; Kelechi Iheanacho.

We wish the Super Eagles the best in Russia. Next up is a friendly against Czech.