Kaizer Chief goalkeeper, Daniel Akpeyi, have been recalled to the Super Eagles for the forthcoming AFCON 2021 qualifiers against Benin and Lesotho in November 2019.

Injury to Francis Uzoho in the friendly against Brazil necessitated the recall of Nigeria’s first choice goalie during the 2019 AFCON. Ikechukwu Ezenwa’s inactivity, no thanks to the long delay in the NPFL break, means relying on Maduka Okoye for the two games will be tricky.

There were also recalls for captain Ahmed Musa, Mikel Agu, Kenneth Omeruo and Samuel Kalu. Omeruo and Kalu missed out of the friendly against Brazil due to Injury. Gernot Rohr will hope to get maximum points with the returning players.

The Super Eagles will switch back to the Godswill Akpabio Stadium where they would host Benin Republic on Wednesday November 13 before flying to Maseru to face Lesotho on Sunday November 17. Are the Asaba days over?

The full list:

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia)

Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France);

Standby: Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Prague, Czech Republic); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England)

Photocredit: footballlive.ng