Manchester City and Cote D’Ivoire midfielder, Yaya Toure is the 2013 BBC Player of the year. The power midfielder beat Mikel Obi, Victor Moses, Jonathan Pitriopa and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang to win the crown.

Chosen one: Yaya Toure holds his African Footballer of the Year award

The 30-year-old told BBC Sport: “I think I’ve been nominated for five years in a
row and finally winning the award is amazing.

The shortlist for the award was drawn up by 44 football experts across Africa, who based their choices on players’ skill, technical ability, teamwork, consistency and fair play.

A record number of fans then voted for their favourite either online or by text message.

And those fans have considered Toure to be the standout African player over the past year, in recognition of the Ivorian’s displays of power, pace, creativity and goals.

Past winners include:

  • 2012 – Christopher Katongo (Zambia and Henan Construction)
  • 2011 – Andre ‘Dede’ Ayew (Marseille & Ghana)
  • 2010 – Asamoah Gyan (Sunderland & Ghana)
  • 2009 – Didier Drogba (Chelsea & Ivory Coast)
  • 2008 – Mohamed Aboutrika (Al Ahly & Egypt)
  • 2007 – Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal & Togo)
  • 2006 – Michael Essien (Chelsea & Ghana)
  • 2005 – Mohamed Barakat (Al Ahly & Egypt)
  • 2004 – Jay Jay Okocha (Bolton & Nigeria)
  • 2003 – Jay Jay Okocha (Bolton & Nigeria)
  • 2002 – El Hadji Diouf (Liverpool & Senegal)
  • 2001 – Sammy Kuffour (Bayern Munich & Ghana)
  • 2000 – Patrick Mboma (Parma & Cameroon)

We await the CAF Player of the year soonest.

follow @soccergunz on twitter and like our facebook page , we follow back