Every year football fans are served with the a comedy that Sepp Blatter calls the Ballon D’Or. Last night Christiano Ronaldo went home with the 2014 Ballon D’Or and others had their respective awards to merry about.

Ronaldo beat Messi to the award as he was crowned the 2014 Ballon d'Or winner after a stellar 12 months

The Duopoly of the Ballon D’Or especially after the merge with the FIFA footballer of the year has gone boringly uninteresting  with the battle continuosly between Messi and Ronaldo. I lost interest in the award when Thiery Henry couldnt win the award despite pulling down every strong hold and putting the fear of God in every back four he faced.


The voting system adds more caricature to the comedy with Messi choosing Di Maria, Iniesta and Mascherano as his best players of 2014. Ronaldo went for his Madrid teammates: Ramos, Bale and Benzema. Various other captains made their votes and you can laugh your way out of your troubles after going through it.

How James Rodriguez won the Puskas Award is still a mystery to me. I see that almost weekly in the sand field close to my office. Even David Luiz made the FIFPro XI. My God.


FIFA can award who they like, but these are my awards:

Ballon D’Or: Thomas Rosicky 

Women’s World Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

Men’s World Coach: Arsene Wenger, Jose Mourinho can eat his hat

Women’s World Coach: Jose Mourinho. Ooh, he wan an award for his wimps

Presidential Award: Thierry Henry. Retiring as a Legend.

Fair Play Award: Nigeria. Don’t ask why.

Puskas Award: Thomas Rosicky. Banana goal against Tottenham

World XI: Choose any 11 from Arsenal’s team and just include Rosicky. What of Bendtner? The World Best.


Enjoy your awards