Super Eagles and Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi has been named by CAF as the Youth Player of the Year (2016). The Nigerian midfielder shrugged off competition from Ghanaians Eric Ayiah and Sandra Owusu-Ansah in the final three to win his first CAF Award.

The event which was sponsored by Globacom held last night in Abuja, the Capital of Nigeria and had Super Falcons and Arsenal Ladies’ forward Asisat Oshoala emerging Women’s Player of the year. Recall that Oshoala emerged top scorer in the 2016 AWCON.

Kelechi Iheanacho was awarded the Most Promising Talent, an award he won in 2013 while the Super Falcons emerged Woman’s Team of The Year. Florence Omagbemi missed out on becoming the first women to win the CAF Coach of the Year Award.

The biggest award went to Leicester City and Algerian forward, Riyad Mahrez. The current Premier League Player of the Year scooped the CAF Africa Player of the Year award ahead of Peirre-Emerick Aubameyang and Sadio Mane.

Full Award list (Winners in bold)

  • African Player of the Year
    • Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City) – 361 votes
    • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund) – 313 votes
    • Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool) – 186 votes
  • African Player of the Year – Based in Africa
    • Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns) – 252 votes
    • Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns) – 228 votes
    • Rainford Kalaba (Zambia & TP Mazembe) – 206 votes
  • Women’s Player of the Year
    • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)
    • Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)
    • Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & Rossyanka)
  • Most Promising Talent
    • Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City)
    • Elia Meschak (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
    • Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)
  • Youth Player of the Year
    • Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)
    • Eric Ayiah (Ghana & Charity FC)
    • Sandra Owusu-Ansah (Ghana & Supreme Ladies)
  • Coach of the Year
    • Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)
    • Florent Ibenge (DR Congo National Team)
    • Florence Omagbemi (Nigeria Women’s National Team)
  • Club of the Year
    • Mamelodi Sundowns
    • TP Mazembe
    • Zesco United
  • National Team of the Year
    • Uganda
    • DR Congo
    • Senegal
  • Women’s National Team of the Year
    • Nigeria
    • Cameroon
    • South Africa
  • Referee of the Year
    • Bakary Papa Gassama
    • Ghead Zaglol Grisha
    • Malang Diedhiou
  • Football Leader Award
    • Manuel Lopes Nascimento, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation
  • Legend Award
    • Laurent Pokou, former player of Cote d’Ivoire
    • Emilienne Mbango, former player of Cameroon
  • Platinum Award
    • His Excellency Muhammadu Buhari, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Africa Finest XI
    • Denis Onyango -GK (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
    • Joyce Lomalisa -DF (DR Congo & AS Vita)
    • Eric Bailly -DF (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United)
    • Aymen Abdennour -DF (Tunisia & Valencia)
    • Serge Aurier -DF (Cote d’Ivoire & PSG)
    • Keegan Dolly -MF (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
    • Khama Billiat -MF (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns)
    • Rainford Kalaba -MF (Zambia & TP Mazembe)
    • Sadio Mane -FW (Senegal & Liverpool)
    • Peirre-Emerick Aubameyang -FW (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)
    • Riyad Mahrez -FW (Algeria & Leicester City)
    • Substitutes
      • Aymen Mathlouthi (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel)
      • Kalidou Koulibay (Senegal & Napoli)
      • Salif Coulibaly (Mali & TP Mazembe)
      • Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City)
      • Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)
      • Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City)
      • Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)

One more 2016 Award to go: The FIFA BEST