The Super Eagles have been drawn in group D of the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) to face Egypt – the most successful team in the competition.

The draws which took place at Yaounde on Tuesday August 17 had the 24 qualified teams divided into 4 pots.

Hosts Cameroon, defending champions Algeria, Senegal, Tunisia, Nigeria and Morocco were placed in Pot 1 while Egypt, Ghana, Mali, Ivory Coast, Guinea and Burkina Faso were placed in Pot 3.

Pot 3 had Cape Verde, Gabon, Mauritania, Zimbabwe, Guinea-Bissau and Sierra Leone while Pot 4 had Sudan, Malawi, Comoros, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gambia.

Nigeria was placed in Group D alongside 7-time champions Egypt, 1970 winners Sudan, and Guinea-Bissau who will be making their third appearance in the competition.

  • Group A : Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Cape Verde
  • Group B : Senegal, Zimbabwe, Guinee, Malawi
  • Group C : Morocco, Ghana, Comoros, Gabon
  • Group D : Nigeria, Egypt, Sudan, Guinea-Bissau
  • Group E : Algeria, Sierra-Leone, Equatorial Guinea, Côte d’Ivoire
  • Group F : Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Gambia

Nigeria have not won Egypt in any competitive match since 1990 – losing thrice in 5 attempts. They have been grouped six times in the AFCON with just 2 victories for Nigeria – 2W, 2D, 2L.

Nigeria faced Sudan in the group stages of the 1963 & 1976 AFCON. Sudan won 4-0 in 1963 but lost 1-0 in 1976. The Super Eagles have lost just twice in 14 previous meetings against Sudan. Nigeria will face Guinea-Bissau for the first time.

The group stage of the 2021 AFCON begins in January 9, 2022 with the final billed for February 6, 2022.